Texas Landmarks and Legacies - Today in Texas History
Vol 8, No 342 December 8, 1977 Thursday Evening
Earl Campbell Win the Heismann Trophy
Today in Sports
Southwest Conference founded
AUSTIN   (1914)    On this date in 1914, an idea of L Theo Belmont, athletic director at the University of Texas came into being. The new Southwest Intercollegiate Athletic Conference was born, and originally included UT, Texas A&M, Baylor, Oklahoma, OSU (Oklahoma A&M at the time), Arkansas, Southwestern, and Rice (provisionally). Old Miss and LSU declined. Eventually SMU (1918), TCU (1923), Texas Tech (1958), and the University of Houston(1972) would replace OU, OSU and Southwestern. In 1940, an agreement was reached that the SWC champion would be the host of the Cotton Bowl each year.    More about "College Conferences" on the Web

Born This Date
Floyd Tillman born
OKLAHOMA CITY   (1914) Click Here to follow "Floyd Tillman" forward in Time  On this date in 1914, Songwriter Floyd Tillman was born in Ryan, Oklahoma. Son of a sharecropper, Tillman was raised in Post in the southern Texas panhandle. Tillman has over 1,000 country songs to his credit, and is a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame.    More about "Floyd Tillman on the Web

Campbell Wins the Trophy
NEW YORK CITY Click Here to follow "Earl Campbell" back in Time(1977)Click Here to follow "Earl Campbell" forward in Time  On this date in 1977, University of Texas running back, Earl Campbell from Tyler, won the Heismann Trophy at ceremonies at the New York Athletic Club in Manhattan. In his four years at Texas, Campbell rushed for 4,444 yards, and 41 touchtowns. More of "Earl Campbell" on the Web
Capitol Desk
State Officials accept new Capitol Building
AUSTIN   (1888)    On this date in 1888, officials with the State of Texas gave official acceptance of the new State Capitol building. The new building, built with Texas pink granite is a magnificient structure both in beauty and in size.